Coffee butter cake

The recipe for butter cake is pretty basic: flour, milk, butter and egg. It gets interesting when you start to play around with the extras: chocolate, or coffee, or lemon, or whatever takes your fancy. I’m sure I’ve seen a lavender butter cake around somewhere, and one day I plan to give it a try.

But this wasn’t the day for fancy things like lavender butter cake.

We were on the hunt for a coffee cake. By this, I mean a cake that tastes like coffee, not a cake to go with a cup of coffee. We ended up with this coffee butter cake. The group of ladies I baked it for loved it. There wasn’t a lot left at the end.I’m guessing the Fiesta Friday crowd like their cakes too.

Coffee butter cake

Coffee butter cake: not a lot left after morning tea with the ladies

So this is a highly recommended cake for people who like normal, sweet butter cakes with that rich and oh-so-sweet buttery icing. Even though I did my usual trick of replacing half the sugar with ground almond, it’s still a bit too sweet for me. I also would have lied something with a stronger coffee taste. But maybe I was really thinking a straight, long black coffee! Or maybe I should have added a lot more coffee (like this).

And for those who were expecting cake this week: here it is at the Fiesta Friday party, with Angie,  Effie @Food Daydreaming and Jhuls @The Not So Creative Cook.

Coffee butter cake

  • Servings: 10-15
  • Difficulty: easy
  • Print

Ingredients

  • 4 ounces of butter
  • ½ cup of brown sugar
  • ½ cup of ground almond
  • ½ cup of milk coffee (see step 2 in the directions)
  • 1 teaspoon of cinnamon
  • 2 eggs
  • 2 cups of self-raising flour
  • extra butter and cocoa powder for dusting the cake tin
  • icing: ½ cup of melted butter, 2 cups of icing sugar, more coffee (instant coffee works better)

Directions

  1. Before you start: Grease two 20-centimeter (8-inch) round cake tins with butter, then dust with cocoa powder. Turn the oven on to 180ºC (350F).
  2. Make the milk coffee. You can use instant coffee, espresso coffee, whatever you like. I make a strong espresso coffee and add a little milk to it. Let it cool.
  3. Melt the butter. Mix everything together, adding the milk coffee last.
  4. Pour the mixture into your two cake tins then bake for about 30 minutes, or until a skewer comes out cleanly. Let the cakes cool while you make the icing.
  5. Make the icing: Melt the butter, then stir in the coffee (especially if you’re using instant coffee) until it’s dissolved. Sift in the icing sugar a few spoonfuls at a time and mix in thoroughly until you have a lovely icing-like consistency.

Notes

The icing is called a butter icing, The official way to make it is to beat the butter until it’s creamy, then add the sugar. We just melt the butter: it’s so much easier that way. The amount of sugar you need for it depends a bit on the weather, so don’t dump it in all at once. If you add too much sugar, and the icing goes past smooth to sugary, then add a tiny little bit of milk and beat it well.

Source: Adapted from the Australian Family Circle’s Favourite Cake Recipes, Murdoch Books: Sydney, 1991.

Coffee butter cake

Coffee butter cake

15 thoughts on “Coffee butter cake

  1. When I saw coffee cake before, I thought it was a coffee-flavoured cake. Then I found out that there are those kinds of cake and there are coffee cakes that go with coffee. Well, I like the cake the a coffee flavour in it. So this goes out to my ‘to-bake’ list. Thanks a lot for sharing this delicious cake and I hope you enjoy the party. xx

    Like

  2. Yum, I do love a buttery slice of cake! Your trick of replacing some of the sugar with ground almond is very clever. Hmm, I often find this sort of icing very sweet, so I wonder whether I’d be able to apply that to the icing as well 🙂
    I do enjoy coffee cakes made to go along with coffee, but now that you’ve mentioned it, I really would like a cake that taste of coffee!

    Like

    • You’re right about the icing being very sweet. I hadn’t thought of substituting some of the ground almond in it – even though I do it for cream-based icing. Call it a slightly less-than-genius moment?

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

